Those making minimum wage in Massachusetts are about to see a bump in pay.
In June of 2018, Governor Baker signed H.4640, an Act relative to minimum wage, paid family medical leave and the sales tax holiday, also known as the “Grand Bargain.” The legislation created a permanent sales tax holiday, increase in the minimum wage over five years and created a new paid family and medical leave program in Massachusetts.
A raise of the Commonwealth’s minimum wage to $15/hour over five years began in January 2019 with a bump up to $12 an hour. A raise to the minimum base wage rate for tipped workers to $6.75, also phased in over a 5-year period, began in January of 2019 with a raise to $4.35 an hour.
Beginning January 1st 2020, the standard minimum wage will increase to $12.75 and the tipped minimum wage will bump up to $4.95.