Connect with us


New England states removed from Rhode Island COVID-19 Travel Restriction List



Massachusetts and other New England states were removed today from Rhode Island’s COVID-19 Travel Restriction List which puts limitations on those traveling there.

According to the Rhode Island Department of Health, if you are coming to Rhode Island from a state with a positivity rate of COVID-19 greater than 5% you are required to self-quarantine for 14 days while in Rhode Island.

As an exception, you may provide proof of a negative test for COVID-19 that was taken within 72 hours prior to arrival in Rhode Island.

If you receive a test during your quarantine in Rhode Island and get a negative test result, you can stop quarantining. However, you still need to self-monitor for symptoms of COVID-19 for 14 days, wear a mask in public, and follow physical distancing guidelines. You also must quarantine while waiting for a negative test result.

RIDH also states that quarantining for 14 days is always preferred over relying on a negative test result as quarantining is the best way to limit the possibility of spreading COVID-19.

The states remaining on Rhode Island’s COVID-19 Travel Restriction List include Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri, Nevada, New Jersey, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, and Virginia.

Massachusetts adds new low risk travel locations for the first time since late November

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Copyright © 2017 Fall River Reporter