Connect with us


MA drivers continue to be distracted, one MA Police Dept. catches 84 in the act in 2 1/2 hours



Photo courtesy of West Bridgewater Police

In what is probably not a surprise to most, distracted driving is still a major issue both in Massachusetts and beyond.

The West Bridgewater Police Department, who is known for their distracted driving stings, implemented another one on Monday and the results were eye-popping.

In 2 1/2 hours, WBPD conducted 110 traffic stops. 84 citations were issued for distracted driving. 2 criminal citations were also issued for other offenses.

The department had a message for the driving public after the sting.

“We have these events to show how many motorists just don’t listen to the warnings of how dangerous distracted driving can be. Put the phones down!”

Massachusetts law prohibits operators of motor vehicles from using any electronic device, including mobile telephones, unless the device is used in hands-free mode.

The “hands-free” law came into effect as of February 23, 2020.

Penalty for violating the hands-free law:

1st offense – $100 fine.
2nd offense – $250 fine, mandatory distracted driving educational program.
3+ offenses – $500 fine, insurance surcharge, mandatory distracted driving educational program.

In 2019, distracted driving was a reported factor in 8.5% of fatal motor vehicle crashes, according to NHTSA.

Nearly 3,200 people died in motor vehicle crashes in the U.S. in 2019 in which distraction was deemed a contributing factor.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Copyright © 2017 Fall River Reporter