Connect with us


Lincoln Park, lunch meets, crabbing, and Fall River exhibits highlight Heritage Park activities



Photo courtesy of Heritage State Park

The warmer weather may be winding down but Heritage State Park still has activities and exhibits down at the Fall River waterfront.

Wednesday LUNCH MEETS LECTURE: The History of Sowams, the 17th October 2
Century Home of Massasoit with Dr. David Weed. 12:00-12:45 pm, Visitor Center Theater.

Discover Sowams, the land around the East Bay of Rhode Island and the shores of Massachusetts. The home of Massasoit, it was described as a “garden” by Pilgrim Myles Standish in 1652. After decades of treaties, land sales, warfare, broken promises, and contagious diseases, what happened? Dr. David Weed of the Sowams Heritage Project will lead us on a journey to rediscover our region’s lost past.

Free and open to the public. An adult must accompany children. Picnic in the park before or after the program. Reasonable accommodations are available upon advance request. Free parking is available at the DCR Lot at 5 Water Street, Fall River. For more info, call (508) 675-5759.

Saturday, October 12
CRABBING THE QUEQUECHAN, 1:30 pm, on the Foot bridge. Join as we go hunting for blue crabs one last time this season! We’ll bring the supplies needed for this catch-and release hunt. If we get lucky, we’ll see some crabs, if not, we’ll still learn a little about the animals that call the Quequechan River home. Meet on the Kaplan Footbridge in front of the Visitor Center. Suitable for all ages. Rain will cancel this program. Children must be accompanied by an adult.

Ongoing, Daily
THROUGH OUR EYES EXHIBIT, 9:00 am – 3:30 pm, Community Gallery. Adult English-language learners at SER -Jobs for Progress, Inc. explored the world around them through the camera lens. This selection of photographs focuses on families among the diversity of cultures in Fall River. Continuing until October 15th. Children must be accompanied by an adult.

Ongoing, Daily
LE GRAND DERANGEMENT: THE ACADIAN EXILE IN MASSACHUSETTS EXHIBIT, 9:00 AM–3:30 PM, VISITOR CENTER. On the eve of the French and Indian War, the Acadians, French inhabitants of Nova Scotia, were forcibly removed from their homes and relocated in the American colonies. This exhibit tells the story of those sent to Massachusetts. Continuing until October 5th. Children must be accompanied by an adult.

Ongoing, Daily
CREATION STATION, 9:00 am-3:00 pm, Visitor Center. Come by the Visitor Center and have some fun with arts and crafts! Hands-on activities for the whole family. All ages. Free.

Ongoing, Daily
THE FABRIC OF FALL RIVER FILM, 11:00 am & 2:00 pm, Visitor Center Theater. The newly restored The Fabric of Fall River: Self-Portrait of a City is shown daily at 11:00 am and 2:00 pm in the Visitor Center Theater. The Fabric of Fall River showcases the rich history of Fall River from the First People, through the cotton mill era to the needle trades of the 1980s. Run-time: 34 minutes.

Ongoing, Daily
LINCOLN PARK REMEMBERED FILM, 10:00 am, Visitor Center Theater. Take a sentimental journey back to the area’s favorite amusement park which entertained thou sands from 1894-1987. Enjoy this fun-filled ride into the past with vintage clips and footage from as early as 1920. Run time 45 minutes.

Ongoing, Daily
FACES OF FALL RIVER EXHIBIT, 9:00 am – 3:30 pm, Visitor Center. Meet the people of Fall River through a gallery of classic black and white photographs from the era when the city was the premier textile manufacturing city in North America. See the faces of the women, men and children, primarily immigrants, who labored in the mills. Featured are many photos by photographer and sociologist Lewis Hine.

Ongoing, Daily
THREADS OF FALL RIVER EXHIBIT, 9:00 am-3:30 pm, Visitor Center. “The Threads of Fall River” is a permanent exhibit celebrating the cultural, ethnic and industrial history of Fall River and its preeminence as the textile hub of America.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Copyright © 2017 Fall River Reporter

Translate »