Connect with us


More aerial spraying to take place this week across southeastern Massachusetts



The Massachusetts Department of Health and the Massachusetts Department of Agricultural Resources announced a new round of aerial spraying Tuesday.

A second round of aerial spraying for mosquitoes in areas of southeastern Massachusetts is scheduled to begin Wednesday, August 21 and to continue for several evenings. It remains critically important for people in communities at critical, high and moderate risk for EEE to continue to take personal precautions against mosquito bites. These steps include using EPA-approved bug spray, wearing long sleeves and pants outdoors to reduce exposed skin, and cancelling outdoor activities in the hours from dusk to dawn when mosquitoes are most active.

The spray zone is very similar to the first round, with 4 additional towns being partially sprayed: Attleboro, Mansfield, Marshfield, and a very small section of Abington.

The list of communities entirely within the spray zone (except for exclusions):

Bristol County: Acushnet, Berkley, Dighton, Freetown, Norton, Raynham, Taunton

Plymouth County: Bridgewater, East Bridgewater, Carver, Hanson, Halifax, Lakeville, Middleborough, Pembroke, Plympton, Rochester, West Bridgewater, Whitman

Communities partially in the spray zone:

Bristol County: Attleboro, Dartmouth, Easton, Fairhaven, Fall River, Mansfield, New Bedford, Rehoboth, Somerset, Swansea

Plymouth County: Abington, Brockton, Duxbury, Hanover, Kingston, Marion, Marshfield, Mattapoisett, Norwell, Plymouth, Rockland, Wareham

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Copyright © 2017 Fall River Reporter

Translate »