A Massachusetts police department is warning people that discarding PPE in parking lots can be a costly move.
According to the Swampscott Police Department, unlawful disposal of trash in Massachusetts can be fined up to $5,500 on the first offense.
“This was at Stop & Shop this morning along with several masks and used disposable wipes all over the parking lot. This is making a bad problem worse and possibly spreading COVID-19 to the people having to pick this trash up. There are trash barrels at every shopping cart-holder. The disposal of gloves, masks, and disposable wipes is the responsibility of the person wearing them, not the store employees. We need to contain the spread of COVID-19 and do the right, lawful thing by throwing these items in the trash. The Police Department is aware this is happening all over town and not just at Stop & Shop. Please stop littering, this is making more work and worry for the people having to pick up this trash.”
Subsequent offenses could cost you up to $15,000 each.
Section 16: Disposal of rubbish, etc. on or near highways and coastal or inland waters; penalties; enforcement; park rangers
Section 16. Whoever places, throws, deposits or discharges or whoever causes to be placed, thrown, deposited or discharged, trash, bottles or cans, refuse, rubbish, garbage, debris, scrap, waste or other material of any kind on a public highway or within 20 yards of a public highway, or on any other public land, or in or upon coastal or inland waters, as defined in section 1 of chapter 131, or within 20 yards of such waters, or on property of another, or on lands dedicated for open space purposes, including lands subject to conservation restrictions and agricultural preservation restrictions as defined in chapter 184, shall be punished by a fine of not more than $5,500 for the first offense and a fine not to exceed $15,000 for each subsequent offense; provided, however, that 50 per cent of the fine imposed shall be deposited in the conservation trust.