Connect with us


Here is what you need to know for the 2023 Fall River municipal election



Here is what you need to know heading into next month’s election in Fall River.

Voters are reminded that the biennial municipal election will be held on Tuesday, November 7th for the Offices of Mayor, City Council and School Committee.

The polls will be open from 7:00 A.M. to 8:00 P.M.

Anyone who is interested in requesting a mail- in ballot must submit a signed application by 5:00 P.M. on Tuesday, October 31st. Applications are available via the Board of Elections webpage, the website of Secretary Galvin, or by calling the Board of Elections office at 508-324-2630. Ryan Lyons Chairman & Director Chief Elections Official Board of Elections Dept. asks to submit your applications to his office as soon as possible. Ample time is needed to process your application and prepare your ballot for mailing.

The deadline to Register to Vote in the municipal election is on Saturday, October 28th. The Board of Elections office will be open, as required by statute, from 9:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M. You can also register online at: Online Voter Application ( or by calling the Board of Elections office at 508-324-2630 to request a voter registration card.

For mayor, Coogan and Sutter advanced in September to the November municipal election.

Paul Coogan 4,285 60%
C. Samuel Sutter 2,516 35%
Michael Vandal 326 5%

Here are the results for city council in September as the 18 are headed to the Municipal Election where the top 9 will earn a seat. The Fall River City Council will see at least two new members as Leo Pelletier did not run for re-election and Pamela Laliberte has withdrawn.

Linda Pereira 3,538
Bradford Kilby 3,157
Joseph Camara 3,141
Shawn Cadime 3,027
Cliff Ponte 2,933
Paul Hart 2,894
Andrew Raposo 2,557
Michelle Dionne 2,431
Alexander Silva 2,110
Gabriel Amaral 2,005
Jordan James Silvia 1,960
Laura Jean Washington 1,942
Pamela Laliberte 1,843 (has dropped out)
Ricky Tith 1,752
Joshua Texeira 1,635
Bob Pearson 1,528
Gloria Saddler 1,464
Paulo Amaral 1,310
Joseph Salvador 892

There was no preliminary election for School Committee as there were not enough candidates. The School Committee will see at least one new member with current committee member Paul Hart running for city council. Those facing off in the Municipal Election for the 6 seats are:

Kevin Aguiar
Warren Alves
Bobby Bailey
Rene Brown
Charles Chase
Collin Dias
Thomas Khoury
Michelle Larrivee
Shelli-Ann Pereira
Sara Rodrigues

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Copyright © 2017 Fall River Reporter

Translate »